Melbourne Theatre Company Foundation provides a mechanism to receive, consolidate and distribute all donations to the Company.

Establised in 2015, the Foundation was officially launched in February 2016 with the announcement of a $1 million donation from The Hansen Little Foundation to establish the General Endowment Fund (GEF).

Melbourne Theatre Company Foundation is overseen by a Board of dedicated and supportive leaders who are committed to supporting our philanthropic endeavours and ensure that Donor provided funds are being appropriately managed, invested and utilised. This governance and oversight ensures exact fulfilment of Donors’ intentions.

Tania Seary - Chair
Founding Chair of three companies specialising in the development of the procurement profession - The Faculty, The Source and Procurious. Board member of the Opera Australia Capital Fund. Melbourne Theatre Company Board Member; Melbourne Theatre Company Foundation Board member since December 2021 and Chair since February 2023.

Jennifer Darbyshire - Deputy Chair
Board Member Melbourne International Jazz Festival and Independent Chair, Risk & Compliance Committee, Wingate Group. Previously Executive General Manager Conduct & Regulatory Risk, and General Counsel Governance, NAB. Former Chair Heide Museum of Modern Art and former Board Member St Vincent’s & Mercy Private Hospital, the Financial Ombudsman Service and the Australian Financial Complaints Authority. Melbourne Theatre Company Foundation Board member since August 2021.

Jane Grover
Chief Operating Officer of Box Hill Institute (BHI), Chief Executive Women (CEW) member; previously Chair of the Centre of Contemporary Photography, Chief Executive Officer at SMCT, General Manager Crown Resorts (Communications, Corporate Services, Security Services). Melbourne Theatre Company Foundation Board member since October 2020.

Sally Lansbury
Senior Program Manager at PwC Australia; previously Director of Memberships and Engagement at The Faculty and Business Development Manager at CPA Australia. Melbourne Theatre Company Foundation Board member since December 2023.

Hilary Scott
Senior Counsel, GFG Alliance; previously Corporate Counsel, Kin Group Pty Ltd; Legal Counsel, Pact Group Holdings; Legal Counsel, Symbion formerly Mayne Group Limited; Lawyer, Deacons (now Norton Rose Fulbright). Melbourne Theatre Company Foundation Board member since January 2016.

Tracey Sisson
Board Member of Stephanie Alexander’s Kitchen Garden Foundation; Consult Legal; formerly Director of Law Institute Victoria; formerly TeeRoy Pty Ltd TA Yardmill In-house Counsel, Molino Cahill Lawyers Senior Associate, Baker & McKenzie General Associate; Member, Law Institute of Victoria and Fitzroy Legal Service; Former Director, Law Institute of Victoria; Former Fellow, Taxation Institute of Australia; Former Registered Tax Agent. Melbourne Theatre Company Foundation Board member since July 2018.

Rupert Sherwood
Melbourne Theatre Company Development Director; Melbourne Theatre Company Foundation Board member since February 2019.