Access at Southbank Theatre

Access

MTC is committed to making performances accessible to the widest possible audience. You can learn more about the various services we offer in the sections below – simply click the relevant title for more information.

Alternatively, you can download a large print PDF of our Access Services flyer via the link on the right, or the button below.

Download a flyer

Wheelchair and mobility access

Facilities for wheelchair access and seating that allows more room for the use of mobility aids are available in all theatres. Please make your requirements known when booking.

Captioning and Hearing assistance

Hearing assistance is provided in the form of a closed system Listen Pack at Southbank Theatre and an FM Hearing Loop at Arts Centre Melbourne, at no extra charge upon presentation of identification to theatre usher. Please ask staff for assistance upon arrival.

With the expertise of the Captioning Studio, most MTC productions are captioned via an on-stage screen. A full list of captioned performances is below, and you can also find them on all our online calendars, marked with a ‘C’.

Born Yesterday – Saturday 25 February 4pm
John – Saturday 25 March 2pm
Faith Healer – Saturday 8 April 4pm
Minnie & Liraz – Saturday 15 July 2pm
Macbeth – Saturday 15 July 2pm
Noises Off – Saturday 3 September 4pm
Di and Viv and Rose – Saturday 16 September 4pm
The Father – Saturday 16 December 4pm
Vivid White – Saturday 23 December 2pm

For more information, contact Southbank Theatre on 03 8688 0800 or the Arts Centre on 03 9281 8000 (TTY 03 9281 8441).

Audio description and tactile tours

Vision Australia provides free audio description for people who are vision impaired, for specific performances. If you would like to utilise this service, please notify our Box Office staff when booking your tickets so we can ensure a small audio receiver is available for you. You can collect the receiver upon arrival at the theatre.

There are also tactile tours of the stage prior to the Saturday matinee audio-described performances. The tours commence one hour before the designated performance. Guests are given a tour of the stage and invited to touch the sets, costumes and props while the Stage Manager, and often cast members, describe them.

For more information about this service, please call Vision Australia on 02 9334 3533 or Southbank Theatre on 03 8688 0800.

Audio Described performances and Tactile Tours

Complete lists of our Audio Describer and Tactile Tour performances can be found below, and you can also find them on all our online calendars, marked with ‘A’ or ‘T’.

Born Yesterday
Tuesday 7 February, 6.30pm and Saturday 11 February, 2pm (T)

John
Tuesday 7 March, 6.30pm and Saturday 11 March, 2pm (T)

Faith Healer
Tuesday 28 March, 6.30pm and Saturday 1 April, 4pm (T)

Three Little Words
Tuesday 9 May, 6.30pm and Saturday 13 May, 4pm (T)

Minnie & Liraz
Tuesday 6 June, 6.30pm and Saturday 10 June, 4pm (T)

Macbeth
Tuesday 27 June, 6.30pm and Saturday 1 July, 2pm (T)

Noises Off
Tuesday 1 August, 6.30pm and Saturday 5 August, 4pm (T)

Di and Viv and Rose
Tuesday 5 September, 6.30pm and Saturday 9 September, 4pm (T)

Hay Fever
Tuesday 17 October, 6.30pm and Saturday 21 October, 4pm (T)

The Father
Tuesday 28 November, 6.30pm and Saturday 2 December, 4pm (T)

Vivid White
Tuesday 12 December, 6.30pm and Satruday 16 December, 2pm (T)

Auslan interpreted performances

MTC is currently partnering with Arts Centre Melbourne on offering Auslan interpreted performances. A list of Auslan interpreted performances is below, and you can also find them on all our online calendars, Marked with an ‘S’.

John – Saturday 4 March, 2pm
Minnie & Liraz – Saturday 3 June, 4pm
Noises Off – Saturday 29 July, 4pm

For more information, contact Southbank Theatre on info@mtc.com.au or 03 8688 0800 or the Arts Centre on 03 9281 8000 (TTY 03 9281 8441).

More information

Arts Access Victoria

Arts Access Victoria is the State’s leading arts and disability organisation. They are focused on building the capacity of the arts, disability, community and education sectors to increase the participation of people with a disability in arts and culture.

You can contact Arts Access directly on Voice: 9699 8299 or TTY: 9699 7636, or email info@artsaccess.com.au.

Companion Card

Companion Cards are issued to people with a significant, permanent disability, who can demonstrate that they are unable to access most community activities and venues without attendant care support. MTC offers Companion Card holders a free ticket for their companion to attend the performance and assist with their access needs. Learn more about Companion Card bookings.