Access at Southbank Theatre

Access

MTC is committed to making performances accessible to the widest possible audience. You can learn more about the various services we offer in the sections below – simply click the relevant title for more information.

Alternatively, you can download a large print PDF of our Access Services flyer via the links on the right, or the buttons below.

Season 2017 Flyer Season 2018 Flyer

Audio description and tactile tours

Vision Australia provides free audio description for people who are vision impaired, for specific performances. They are narrated by volunteer audio describers who describe actions, expressions and gestures during gaps between dialogue throughout the performance. If you would like to utilise this service, please notify our Box Office staff when booking your tickets so we can ensure a small audio receiver is available for you. You can collect the receiver upon arrival at the theatre.

There are also tactile tours of the stage prior to the Saturday matinee audio-described performances. The tours commence one hour before the designated performance. Guests are given a tour of the stage and invited to touch the sets, costumes and props while the Stage Manager, and often cast members, describe them.

Assistance animals are welcome at all venues and water bowls can be provided upon request.

For more information about this service, please call Southbank Theatre on 03 8688 0800.

A list of upcoming Audio Described and Tactile Tour performances can be found below, and you can also find them on all our online calendars, marked with ‘A’ or ‘T’.

Season 2017

Hay Fever
Tuesday 17 October, 6.30pm and Saturday 21 October, 4pm

The Father
Tuesday 28 November, 6.30pm and Saturday 2 December, 4pm

Vivid White
Tuesday 12 December, 6.30pm and Satruday 16 December, 2pm

Season 2018
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night–Time
Tuesday 6 February, 6.30pm and Saturday 10 February, 2pm

The Children
Tuesday 20 February, 6.30pm and Saturday 24 February, 4pm

Abigail’s Party
Tuesday 3 April, 6.30pm and Satruday 7 April, 4pm

Wild
Tuesday 22 May, 6.30pm and Saturday 26 May, 4pm

The House of Bernada Alba
Tuesday 19 June, 6.30pm and Saturday 23 June, 4pm

Gloria
Tuesday 3 July, 6.30pm and Saturday 7 July, 4pm

An Ideal Husband
Tuesday 31 July, 6.30pm and Saturday 4 August, 4pm

A Doll’s House, Part 2
Tuesday 28 August, 6.30pm and Saturday 1 September, 4pm

The Architect
Tuesday 9 October, 6.30pm and Saturday 13 October, 4pm

Astroman
Tuesday 20 November, 6.30pm and Saturday 24 November, 4pm

Twelfth Night
Tuesday 4 December, 6.30pm and Saturday 8 December, 2pm

Auslan interpreted performances

MTC is currently partnering with Arts Centre Melbourne to offer Auslan interpreted performances for some shows. You can find the performances on all our online calendars, marked with an ‘S’. There are no upcoming Auslan interpreted performances in 2017, and details for Season 2018 will be released in the coming months.

For more information, contact Southbank Theatre on info@mtc.com.au or 03 8688 0800, or Arts Centre Melbourne on 03 9281 8000 (TTY 03 9281 8441).

Captioned Performances

With the expertise of the Captioning Studio, most MTC productions are captioned via an on-stage screen. During these performances, text is displayed on a screen to the side of the stage, relaying actors’ dialogue, nuances, music and sound effects. Where possible, seats near the screen are held for those who require them. If you wish to view the captions please inform us when you book to ensure appropriate seating is made available.

A list of upcoming captioned performances is below, and you can also find them on all our online calendars, marked with a ‘C’.

Season 2017
The Father – Saturday 16 December 4pm
Vivid White – Saturday 23 December 2pm

Season 2018
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night–Time – Saturday 3 February 2pm
The Children – Thursday 22 February 8pm
Abigail’s Party – Thursday 5 April 8pm
Wild – Thursday 24 May 8pm
The House of Bernada Alba – Thursday 21 June 8pm
Gloria – Thursday 5 July 8pm
An Ideal Husband – Thursday 2 August 8pm
A Doll’s House, Part 2 – Thursday 30 August 8pm
The Architect – Thursday 18 October 8pm
Astroman – Thursday 22 November 8pm
Twelfth Night – Thursday 6 December 8pm

For more information, contact Southbank Theatre on 03 8688 0800 or the Arts Centre on 03 9281 8000 (TTY 03 9281 8441).

Hearing assistance

Hearing assistance can be provided for all productions in the form of a closed system Listen Pack at Southbank Theatre, and an FM Hearing Loop or Listen Pack at Arts Centre Melbourne. There is no extra charge for this service, simply ask theatre staff for assistance when you arrive.

Relaxed Performance

In collaboration with Arts Centre Melbourne there is a relaxed performance of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time on Thursday 25 January at 1pm.

Relaxed Performances are for everyone who will benefit from a more relaxed environment but are specifically designed to welcome patrons with autism spectrum disorder (ASD) or other disabilities that create sensory sensitivity. Sound and lighting cues are adjusted to be less startling and patrons can leave the auditorium if they need a break. There is a relaxed attitude to noise, doors remain open and a designated quite area is available on arrival and during the show. A pre-show Visual Story is available for patrons to prepare for their visit and the performance.

The Relaxed Performance of Curious Incident is part of Arts Centre Melbourne’s extensive Associated Program. For more information visit artscentremelbourne.com.au.

Wheelchair and mobility access

MTC productions are staged at Southbank Theatre and Arts Centre Melbourne. Facilities for wheelchair access and seating that allows more room for the use of mobility aids are available in all theatres, for all performances (subject to availability).

At Southbank Theatre, wheelchair access is via the front entrance on Southbank Boulevard, and at Arts Centre Melbourne via the front entrance on St Kilda Road or via the carpark. Southbank Theatre and Arts Centre Melbourne have lifts to all levels. The foyers within Southbank Theatre and Arts Centre Melbourne offer tables and chairs at wheelchair height and Southbank Theatre also has a low bar service area.

Taxis can be flagged outside the venues or can be booked by theatre staff upon request.

More information

Arts Access Victoria

Arts Access Victoria is the State’s leading arts and disability organisation. They are focused on building the capacity of the arts, disability, community and education sectors to increase the participation of people with a disability in arts and culture.

You can contact Arts Access directly on Voice: 9699 8299 or TTY: 9699 7636, or email info@artsaccess.com.au.

Companion Card

Companion Cards are issued to people with a significant, permanent disability, who can demonstrate that they are unable to access most community activities and venues without attendant care support. MTC offers Companion Card holders a free ticket for their companion to attend the performance and assist with their access needs. Learn more about Companion Card bookings.