Show artwork for Year 3 NEXT STAGE Writers Announced
MTC Foundation

Year 3 NEXT STAGE Writers Announced

On Wednesday 7 August, Melbourne Theatre Company announced 10 new writers who will make up the Year 3 cohort of the NEXT STAGE Writers’ Program.

NEXT STAGE is a multi-million dollar playwriting initiative, established with generous support of the MTC Playwrights Giving Circle in 2017, to secure the future of great Australian storytelling.

The program will see Elise Hearst, Andrea James and Phil Kavanagh join the Company as Writers-in-Residence, and new commissions have been awarded to Van Badham, Aidan Fennessy, Dan Giovannoni and Anchuli Felicia King. In addition, the 2018 Resident Writers Declan Furber Gillick, Melissa Reeves and Chris Summers have also been commissioned to write new plays as they continue into the second year of their residencies.

The program continues to take huge strides towards its goals, with 25 writers commissioned or in residence with MTC; 25 workshops held to further the development of 16 drafted works; and the opening of the first NEXT STAGE Commission to be staged, Golden Shield by Anchuli Felicia King on Friday 16 August.

Thank you to MTC’s Playwrights Giving Circle for sharing our passion and commitment to Australian stories and Australian writers.


Published on 26 August 2019

Explore More