Show artwork for Jane Hansen AO appointed Chair of Melbourne Theatre Company
Media Release

Jane Hansen AO appointed Chair of Melbourne Theatre Company

Jane Hansen AO was today announced as the new Chair of Melbourne Theatre Company. She succeeds Terry Moran AC who steps down at the end of 2019 after completing a very successful six year term. 

In making the announcement, University of Melbourne Vice-Chancellor and MTC Board Member Professor Duncan Maskell said, ‘I welcome Jane Hansen to lead one of Melbourne’s, indeed Australia’s, great cultural institutions into its next exciting phase of artistic and strategic endeavour. On behalf of the Board and University I thank Terry Moran for his service as Chair, during which time he has steered MTC through a period of considerable growth and vibrancy while maintaining financial stability of the Company.’ 

Terry Moran AC said, ‘It has been an honour to serve as MTC Chair. The Company has achieved a great deal in enriching the cultural landscape and conversation, and I am proud to have played a role. MTC is very fortunate to have Jane Hansen as its next Chair to lead the Company into a new, exciting chapter.’

Jane Hansen is currently CEO and Chair of the Hansen Little Foundation, Deputy Chancellor and Member of the University of Melbourne Council, Deputy Chair of the University of Melbourne’s Believe Campaign and Member of Humanities Foundation Board of University of Melbourne.

A Company Director with more than 20 years’ investment banking and management experience in London, New York and Australia, Jane Hansen is a corporate finance specialist with previous experience at Macquarie Bank and First Boston/Credit Suisse. She is also a Board Member of the Lord Mayors Charitable Foundation and Opera Australia, and has been on the MTC Board and the inaugural Chair of the MTC Foundation since 2015.

‘MTC has long played a significant role in my life, first as a subscriber then member of the Board and Chair of the Foundation. Through my deeper involvement in the Company in recent years, I’ve become acutely aware of just how important it is to the people of Victoria and its incredible contribution, reach and impact throughout the state. It is a great privilege to now Chair this extraordinary organisation,’ Jane Hansen said.

MTC Artistic Director & CEO Brett Sheehy AO acknowledged the outgoing Chair’s support for MTC’s artistic and strategic vision.   

Brett Sheehy said, ‘I thank Terry for his leadership, in particular his championing of a company vision that included significant risk and unprecedented artistic initiatives including our NEXT STAGE Writers’ Program. This crucial vote of confidence has enabled MTC to be the successful theatre company it is today. As we now embark on a new era, I am thrilled to see Jane assume the role of Chair, as someone who has shown equal enthusiasm for, and already helped shape, the Company’s ambitious vision for 2020 and beyond.’

MTC Executive Director & Co-CEO Virginia Lovett echoed Mr Sheehy’s sentiments in welcoming the appointment of Jane Hansen. 

Virginia Lovett said, ‘Jane is a valiant and highly respected leader. She is driven by a passionate commitment to the arts and betterment of the broader community, evident through her extensive engagements across the cultural, education, public and private sectors. Having served on the Board and led the development of the MTC Foundation for the past four years, Jane is already fully engaged in the challenges, pressures and opportunities the Company faces. I am looking forward to working with her to make MTC the best it can be.’

At the end of the year, MTC will also farewell long serving board members Ian Marshman AM and Martyn Myer AO who each will have completed a 10 year term.  

Over their tenures, Ian and Martyn have made exceptional contributions to the Company as active Board Members, donors and dedicated advocates for MTC.

Notably, Martyn Myer was an early champion of MTC’s NEXT STAGE Writers’ Program and instrumental in realising this landmark program. 

Terry Moran, Ian Marshman and Martyn Myer will step down from the Board at the end of 2019.

Jane Hansen will take up her role as Chair from January 2020.


Published on 6 December 2019