Brett Sheehy AO

Artistic Director

Brett Sheehy is one of Australia’s most accomplished and acclaimed artistic directors, producers and curators. He is Artistic Director and CEO of Melbourne Theatre Company, having recently concluded his four year tenure as Artistic Director of Melbourne Festival. He is the only person ever to be appointed to direct three of the five international arts festivals in Australia’s State capital cities. In the 2012 Queen’s Birthday Honours Brett was appointed an Officer of the Order of Australia (AO) for “distinguished service to the performing and visual arts as a director of national festivals, to international artistic exchange, and through mentoring roles.”

Brett’s professional appointments have included:

  • Artistic Director, CEO and Board Member, Melbourne Theatre Company (since 2012)
  • Artistic Director and Co-CEO, Melbourne Festival (2009 to 2012)
  • Artistic Director, the cultural program, 5th Biennial World Summit on Arts and Culture
  • (2011)
  • Artistic Director and Co-CEO, Adelaide Festival (2005 to 2008)
  • Festival Director and CEO, Sydney Festival (2002 to 2005)
  • Deputy Director, Sydney Festival (1997 to 2002)
  • Administrator, Sydney Festival (1995 to 1997)
  • Deputy General Manager, Sydney Theatre Company (1994 to 1995)
  • Literary Manager, Sydney Theatre Company (1990 to 1994)
  • Artistic Associate, Sydney Theatre Company (1986 to 1990)

Other appointments and awards to date have included:

  • Mentor, Australia Council’s Emerging Leaders Development Program (since 2012)
  • Judge, Sidney Myer Performing Arts Awards (since 2012)
  • Board Member, SBS Subscription TV Ltd. (2011-2012)
  • Selector and Mentor, Harold Mitchell Foundation Fellowship (2009-2012)
  • Member, Artists’ Advisory Panel, Bell Shakespeare Company (2009-2012)
  • Founding Ambassador, Australia Council’s We All Play a Part initiative encouraging nation-wide community involvement in the arts (since 2008)
  • Member, Creative Australia, Australia 2020 Summit (2008)
  • Member, Power Panel, Australian Financial Review Magazine (2005-2008)
  • Member, Arts Advisory Group, Australian Broadcasting Corporation (2003-2005)
  • Member, Committee for Sydney (2001-2005)
  • Board Member, Australian Theatre for Young People (1999 to 2003)
  • Member, Arts and Events Committee, NSW Centenary of Federation (1998 to 2001)
  • Member, Sydney Carnivale Council (1996 to 1998)
  • Member, Sydney Writers’ Festival Committee (1995-1997)
  • Twice Winner (with Geoffrey Gifford), International Society for the Performing Arts Award – World’s Best Subscription Brochure (1993 and 1994)
  • Winner, Mobil Fellowship in Arts Administration (1991)
  • Script Assessor, Australia Council (1989-1990)
  • Reader, Australian National Playwrights’ Centre (1988-1989)
  • Winner, Qantas International Theatre Scholarship (1987)
  • Editor (with Theresa Willsteed) of the award-winning book Sydney Theatre Company 1978 to 1988
  • Judge (with Glenn A. Baker) Sydney Rock and Roll Eisteddfod (1986-1988)